Indian Eye Research Group becomes ARVO Chapter Affiliate

By Inderjeet Kaur, PhD

Originally published in the Spring 2012 issue of ARVONews


Over 230 attendees gathered for the 19th annual meeting of the Indian Eye Research Group, during which delegates unanimously agreed to a name change to mark the group’s participation in ARVO International Chapter Affiliate program. The group is now known as Indian Eye Research Group -ARVO-India Chapter (IERG-ARVO-IC). 

The July meeting was organized jointly by the LV Prasad Eye Institute (LVPEI) and the Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology at LVPEI’s Kallam Anji Reddy Campus in Hyderabad, and included 184 presentations (12 invited talks, 45 papers and 116 posters) from all over India. 

Highlights included: 

  • A special evening lecture, “Next generation DNA sequencing” followed by a gala dinner 
  • The 14th Bireswar Chakrabarti Oration, “Protein Aggregation in Cataract,” delivered by Usha P. Andley, PhD, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, and Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Mo. 
  • The First Prof. D. Balasubramanian Oration, delivered by Prof. Robert C. Augusteyn from Vision CRC, Sydney, Australia 

A special one-day symposium prior to the meeting commemorated LVPEI’s 25th anniversary, “Approaches to Understanding the Biology of Diseases” drew over 100 delegates from across the country. Six scientists, all women, who have done notable work in disease-based biology presented their research, each highlighting her approaches to studying a particular aspect of her chosen disease and its implications in diagnostics and therapeutics. 

In agreeing to the name change, delegates at the general session also decided that research rigor, which has been the hallmark of IERG since its inception in the early 1990s, will continue to be key to planning IERG-ARVO-IC activities. 

IERG-ARVO-IC will operate as a wing of the Hyderabad Eye Research Foundation, led by a 10-member council. There will be an annual membership subscription, plus registration fee for each annual meeting.

Harrington tower ad